Skip to content Skip to footer

Our Trustees

Trustees and Directors of Citizens Advice Diss, Thetford & District (CADAT)


We are a charity and company limited by guarantee and as such are required to have a Trustee Board which deals with the governance of the office. It is important we select Trustees who have a broad range of skills which complement each other and that the Board works together as a team with staff and volunteers working in the office.  It is also vital that they uphold the principles of Citizens Advice which are to provide a high quality, impartial and confidential service to those living in the community they serve and challenge any social injustices of which they become aware.

Board meetings are held at least four times each year.  The Chief Officer advises the board and attends all board and committee meetings. At meetings one or two staff or volunteers may be invited to make a presentation to the Board to explain their work roles.

There are four sub committees and all have Terms of Reference.  These committees meet before a Trustee Board meeting when they report on their recent work and share their plans for the future. These committees are:-

  • Personnel, Health, Safety and Wellbeing
  • Finance, Fundraising, Development, Remuneration & Audit, Risk & Compliance
  • Research & Campaigning
  • Staff Team

Our Trustees

Julia Glenn has enjoyed a truly global career, first in investment banking fintech and more recently as a director in the social enterprise and UK SME sector. Julia’s award-winning work has included establishing overseas manufacturing partners to provide folding humanitarian shelters for displaced people (as CEO of an engineering company) and most recently, setting up specialist dementia services here in the UK as Director of Innovation for an adult social care company. Julia is a University of East Anglia alumna (and keen Norwich City supporter) and lectures from time to time in Information Systems at Norwich Business School. Interests include sport and technology, most specifically searching for solutions to problems faced by people who live with dementia.

Heneage Legge-Bourke Joined the board in 2015. Heneage was born near Ely and having spent most of his life in other countries he first retired to North Norfolk in 2010. In 2017 he moved to Oxfordshire. His professional career started in Australia where he was Food and Beverage Manager with a nation-wide chain of hotels. He then attended the Hotel School in Lausanne in Switzerland and graduated with a diploma in Hotel Management. From there he went to Brazil as Assistant Manager of an island hotel. He was invited by a guest to join him at his bank where he became a money-market dealer. In 1973 he returned to the UK and joined the merchant bank Kleinwort Benson Ltd. After three years at head office in London he was sent to Brazil as Group Representative and returned to head office seven years later to head up the bank’s commercial banking business in francophone Europe. Six years later he accepted an invitation to become Treasurer of a French state-owned chemical company. When this company was merged with Elf, the largest company in France, he was given the post of Head of the Financing Department. Five years later he was seconded as Finance Director to the Interconnector project building a gas pipeline from Bacton in Norfolk to Zeebrugge in Belgium. Shortly after returning to France he left Elf and joined the French bank Natixis where he was a Director of Corporate Finance until he retired in 2010. He is now Chairman of the Vale of White Horse District of Oxfordshire CPRE – the country charity. Having moved to Oxfordshire he resigned from CADAT but agreed to re-join CADAT as temporary Honorary Treasurer until a full-time replacement is found.

Heneage joined CADAT because he admires its aims and wants to contribute his pinch of salt in helping the bureau to fulfil its mission.

Christine Liggett is a business advisor and mentor. She has over 30 years’ experience in marketing and strategic planning and currently volunteers as a mentor at the University of East Anglia Business School. She was a Diss Town Councillor from 2015 to 2019.

Marion Morse M.B.E is our current chair. She has been involved with the Citizens Advice service for more than 44 years. She is also a hospital manager for the Norfolk and Suffolk Mental Health Trust and Hertfordshire Mental Health Trusts.

Jill Wade is a management consultant with 35 years’ experience of working with firms to diagnose and resolve issues and deliver healthy organisational change. Areas of specialism include treating customers fairly, vulnerable customer, people strategy, learning and development, diversity and inclusion. Most recently she has been providing advice to organisations and boards on conduct and culture.

The whole CADAT team try to meet together at least once a year, to update ourselves on the office’s progress and keep our training up to date.

The value of being a Trustee

‘In our tumultuous world there are times when we feel overwhelmed with the enormity and scale of the problems and issues surrounding us. This helplessness isn’t a comfortable feeling but when you find something as rewarding a being a trustee of a magnificent charity (like Citizens Advice) it means you are able to do your bit and make a difference. I’m inspired by how much good we do and couple this with the skills, energy and passion of our staff and volunteers it makes being a Trustee a very good thing to be part of. Why not have a chat with one of us and find out more.’ Jill Wade
Most of us want to make a difference to our communities. Being a trustee with your local Citizens Advice is one way to achieve this . It will give you the opportunity to change the lives of countless people by supporting and guiding the people working in the Citizens Advice Service. As well as helping people solve their problems you will enable them to move forward and better manage their lives. ‘ Marion Morse MBE